I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article

I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
empoweredwoman
Visitor
empoweredwoman

I am a career woman, and it has been *my* choice to not marry until I reach my mid 30s, and meet a sensitive, intellegent, ambitious, handsome man with a great sense of humor.

I have noticed an utter lack of intellegence in the pool of men that I currently encounter, and that they seem quite afraid of my innate abilities and intellegence.

I am cancelling my subscription to Forbes based upon this hateful, horrible, and insensitive article.

08-24-2006 02:23 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
Democles
Regular Contributor
Democles

Not to be rude, but I could not stop rolling on the floor and laughing at your post.

empoweredwoman wrote:
I am a career woman, and it has been *my* choice to not marry until I reach my mid 30s, and meet a sensitive, intellegent, ambitious, handsome man with a great sense of humor.

What makes you think that at 33 to 38 such a man would find you attractive when much younger women would do the job just fine.

empoweredwoman wrote:
I have noticed an utter lack of intellegence in the pool of men that I currently encounter, and that they seem quite afraid of my innate abilities and intellegence.

Maybe you are hanging out at the wrong place, change your venues to where your types may be found and see how it goes.

empoweredwoman wrote:
I am cancelling my subscription to Forbes based upon this hateful, horrible, and insensitive article.

Shows just how little intellectual development you have done or achieved.

Message Edited by Democles on 08-24-2006 02:39 PM

08-24-2006 02:34 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
myonlysunshine
Newbie
myonlysunshine

amen to that. what is it with today’s totally dumb, lazy, brutish men? excuse me, do you ever read something besides the back of the new X-Box game you just bought? or watch something on tv other than the Man Show or college football? WHO could stay with these men if they knew they had the option to leave? seriously. To all you dumb boys out there, if you really want someone to stick with you, maybe you should start dating one another. because no educated woman will stay with your sorry a-s.

08-24-2006 02:46 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
newjerseybadger
Visitor
newjerseybadger

All…

If you don’t like uneducated, unintelligent men, don’t hang out with them (like… at bars, maybe?). Go to places where you’re more likely to meet intelligent, educated men (like… at classical-music and classical-jazz concerts? At evening classes at the local university?). There’s no shortage of men graduating from college, so they’re not all uneducated (I won’t comment on the relative intelligence of college-educated men versus the rest of the guys).

As far as XBox goes… I play XBox. With my 10yo son, for bonding time, ’cause it’s something he likes to do. My wife heartily approves, and we have a grand time. You might try learning an XBox game or two, and hanging out with the guys who play it, and finding out whether any of them are educated/interesting (I have no idea, myself).

But quit whining (sorry, but it does sound repetitive after all the times I’ve heard it from other women) about idiot men, get off the pot, and do something about finding someone you like. My brother-in-law, a substance abuse counselor, found his wife, a professional opera singer and music teacher, through an online service. I think he got lucky, but it could happen.

08-24-2006 03:04 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
empoweredwoman
Visitor
empoweredwoman

The reaction from the men is entirely typical.

Men want slaves to build up their fragile egos.

Well, bad news men, today’s woman is sassy, sarcastic, and independent. We grow even more attractive as we age unlike men. I plan to marry when I hit 35, and raise a healthy, empowered family where I am NOT the slave. I am the VP of HR in a major company, and I provide a very valuable and essential service, how many men can say the same?

Until I marry, I am free to do as I please, be as sexually adventurous as I please, and sad little men have no say in my life. Men are dispicable, illeterate creatures, thank god feminism has freed us from them.

08-24-2006 03:19 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
Democles
Regular Contributor
Democles

empoweredwoman wrote:
The reaction from the men is entirely typical.

Men want slaves to build up their fragile egos.

That’s your opinion.

empoweredwoman wrote:
Well, bad news men, today’s woman is sassy, sarcastic, and independent. We grow even more attractive as we age unlike men. I plan to marry when I hit 35, and raise a healthy, empowered family where I am NOT the slave.

I don’t think anyone is expecting you to be a slave. And how does being sassy, sarcastic and independent makes you more attractive to someone that does not like those qualities?

empoweredwoman wrote:

I am the VP of HR in a major company, and I provide a very valuable and essential service, how many men can say the same?
Umm, how about the many men that have and do the same job you do.

empoweredwoman wrote:
Until I marry, I am free to do as I please, be as sexually adventurous as I please, and sad little men have no say in my life. Men are dispicable, illeterate creatures, thank god feminism has freed us from them.

By what you write, you seem to think that men’s irresponsibilities and ignorance are the power that they had over women.

You erroneously think that power is taken rather than given. Men only had the power over women that women were willing to give to them.

Good luck with your life, but by the looks of it you are in for a world of hurt. Change your attitude and you will be better off, you seem to be your worst enemy.

Cheers,

08-24-2006 03:34 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
newjerseybadger
Visitor
newjerseybadger

Until I marry, I am free to do as I please, be as sexually adventurous as I please, and sad little men have no say in my life. Men are dispicable, illeterate creatures, thank god feminism has freed us from them.

I pity you, that you think all men are like the ones you have met and judged.

And you’d be more persuasive, a bit, if you had spelled “despicable” and “illiterate” correctly.

08-24-2006 03:36 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
empoweredwoman
Visitor
empoweredwoman

The men posting here are obviously abusive, and frankly, I am outraged and I feel verbally raped.

I will meet the exception when I decide to do so, and he will be nothing like you, willing to do most or at least half of the child care and household duties while I pursue activities that are more important, and personally empowering.

I feel sorry for your wives, if you are fortunate enough to have a wife.

Your responses indicate nothing less than mental illness, and a violent urge to repress women from their newfound freedom.

In fact, the white men of our society are much all the same, which is why I rarely date them, much less considering marriage with one.

Enjoy your slaves, should you ever find a modern woman willing to become one.

My husband will enjoy a true equal partnership, which all REAL men truly seek in life in these modern times.

08-24-2006 03:44 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
Democles
Regular Contributor
Democles

The men posting here are obviously abusive, and frankly, I am outraged and I feel verbally raped.

ROFLAO!!!

I will meet the exception when I decide to do so, and he will be nothing like you, willing to do most or at least half of the child care and household duties while I pursue activities that are more important, and personally empowering.

I feel sorry for your wives, if you are fortunate enough to have a wife.

Your responses indicate nothing less than mental illness, and a violent urge to repress women from their newfound freedom.

In fact, the white men of our society are much all the same, which is why I rarely date them, much less considering marriage with one.

Enjoy your slaves, should you ever find a modern woman willing to become one.

My husband will enjoy a true equal partnership, which all REAL men truly seek in life in these modern times.

Wake up! ROFLAO!!

Take care…..ROFLAO!!!!

08-24-2006 03:51 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
mkell
Contributor
mkell

Verbally raped ? Perhaps you should post on the Taliban thread

08-24-2006 03:54 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
Antiriad
Regular Contributor
Antiriad
By now it should be obvious that empoweredwoman is most probably an MRA who is satirizing conventional feminism so as to expose the ridiculous illogic and gaping holes in its double standards.

08-24-2006 03:56 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
empoweredwoman
Visitor
empoweredwoman

Yes, verbally raped.

Thoughtless, insensitive posts by evil, ratlike, piggish men who should be put to death make women feel verbally raped.

Your responses have literally made me cry. I hope you are proud of yourselves.

08-24-2006 03:57 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
careergirl1
Contributor
careergirl1

Empoweredwoman needs to be arrested. This is out of control.

08-24-2006 03:59 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
Democles
Regular Contributor
Democles

Antiriad wrote:

“By now it should be obvious that empoweredwoman is most probably an MRA who is satirizing conventional feminism so as to expose the ridiculous illogic and gaping holes in its double standards. ”

I agree.

08-24-2006 04:00 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
empoweredwoman
Visitor
empoweredwoman

I can only imagine what an MRA is, no doubt a sexually objectifying term.

Get used to empowered, outspoken women, men. We are your equals in every way.

We are loud, proud and IN YOUR FACE.

(except when they legalize the draft, in which case we will find irrational arguments to exclude women).

08-24-2006 04:03 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
mkell
Contributor
mkell

I think empowered woman is a man who has had a sex change. Get out the straight jacket

08-24-2006 04:07 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
mavabene
Visitor
mavabene

I’m shocked that you claim to be a VP in HR. Woe to the men in your company! (ambiguity intended) All of the HR managers I have known have been very careful to create an atmosphere of equal opportunity and respect. That can’t exist when you have an attitude that “men are dispicable, illeterate (sic) creatures, thank god feminism has freed us from them.” You have made sexist and racist comments on this board that go beyond a civil discussion, and you are a perfect example of why sexism and racism is perpetuated through these “modern times”. Why can’t people dispose of their ethnic and gender filters and see the trees instead of the forest?

I can’t imagine what must have happened in your background to make you so hateful, but I really hope you can find a way to deal with it so you can stop being hurtful to others, and yourself.

08-24-2006 04:41 PM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
leeraconteur
Regular Contributor
leeraconteur

I am outraged and I feel verbally raped.

Too bad. If your sensibilities cannot handle adult debate, then find a forum that your delicate constitution can handle.

08-25-2006 05:53 AM

Re: I am literally shocked at the misogyny of this article
newjerseybadger
Visitor
newjerseybadger

Get used to empowered, outspoken women, men. We are your equals in every way.

We are loud, proud and IN YOUR FACE.

(except when they legalize the draft, in which case we will find irrational arguments to exclude women).
You’re not empowered. You’re just a jerk who can’t handle being disagreed with.

08-25-2006 09:47 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

