Silly Boys, Silly Girls


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Silly Boys, Silly Girls

Silly Boys, Silly Girls
JMickDonald
Newbie
JMickDonald

After reading both articles, side by side, I have to go with Michael Noer’s perspective…. because it was longer in length, 4 or 5 paragraphs;

Oh, and his article contained words like ‘studies’, ‘surveys’, ‘opinion polls’, ‘scientific’, ‘analysis’, almost like he was reporting and not opining. It did not contain words like ‘I’, ‘we’, ‘my husband and I’, ‘snuggling’. Its almost like he wrote this as a reporter… reporting information. Hmmmm.

Elizabeth’s words were good, but no better, or more credible, then the words of the rest of us, stuck down here in Threadville, who only have opinions, too.

I am a professional career husband who married a non career woman. My non career partner created a career a few years ago (yes, back to school and graduated with a specialty) so that she could help me make a much needed career change. So, I have lived with “both”. There has been no major difference, except some days I do laundry now and push that Hoover around the house. I am proud to say I no longer ruin clothes with bleach. Otherwise, its the same ol’e household.

This is a silly silly debate, and so is this message. Let’s all go back to work tomorrow, out or in the home. Don’t cheat. Pay your bills. Move on.

Message Edited by JMickDonald on 08-24-2006 09:22 PM

Message Edited by JMickDonald on 08-24-2006 09:25 PM

08-24-2006 08:53 PM

Re: Silly Boys, Silly Girls
Pelican
Regular Contributor
Pelican
I was also disappointed with the rebuttal, but believe it was hastily-written as a sort of damage-control measurement. I don’t particularly think it should judged on par with the original article. I would’ve liked to see a proper rebuttal, as the original article leaves much to be picked over.

As for “reporting v. opinion”, that I would have to argue. There was a total lack of perspective in the original article — when a piece is written from an “ideal position” of men at work and women at home, it’s hard to claim that all facts were properly represented.

From a very basic standpoint, I suppose I can agree with the article — much as women are warned that they can’t change a man, men should understand that they can’t change a woman. If you are looking for a woman who will stay home and cook and clean and take care of your kids and be totally content doing so, then go looking for that woman, if that’s what will make you happy. But the underlying message of the article in that case should be “Men, know your mind before choosing a life partner” rather than “Guys, stay away from the educated ones, because they’ll behave unpredictably and ruin your life”.

Whose fault is it, if a man marries a woman while saying they’re both equal, then starts whining when she doesn’t suddenly develop into his ideal woman? Likewise, women should be wary of the Undercover Traditionalist, who says he’s proud of your career and drive, but will suddenly start asking two years in “So, when we have kids, we don’t want to have a nanny, right?” which is “I want you to stay home” in code.

08-24-2006 09:13 PM

Re: Silly Boys, Silly Girls
Antiriad
Regular Contributor
Antiriad
The plural of anecdote isn’t data.

08-24-2006 09:21 PM

Re: Silly Boys, Silly Girls
Pelican
Regular Contributor
Pelican
“The plural of anecdote isn’t data.”

And for your next trick, would you care to define “non sequitur”?

08-24-2006 09:25 PM

Re: Silly Boys, Silly Girls
JMickDonald
Newbie
JMickDonald

Willowisp… you make a stabbing point which I take in the chest. I have done laundry and other chores over the life of my union, and I made it sound like I now sacrifice my time to do these things. Before…. it was a marital gesture. Now, its part of life. Bad of me to use basic life chores to make a point. Remember – I think this is all silly. But good of you.

Pelican… you write well. Your first two paragraphs were better then mine. Mine were in jest, yours made sense. Elizabeth did not have the time to put together a good piece – it was a rebuttal, after all.

Antririad… huh? Are you responding to the same thread? You may want to go up a level and re-visit the subject lines. I am convinced you are passionate about something, but maybe not silly boys, silly girls.

08-24-2006 09:34 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

