A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)

A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
m3407
Newbie
m3407

As a well-educated and VERY PROUD CAREER WOMAN, I am (or used to be) a reader of Forbes Magazine. If I would have read something like this in another type of magazine, I probably would have laughed, ignored it and just thought that the author was ignorant. However, I found it to be shocking that an article like “Don’t Marry a Career Woman” could have been published in a business magazine such as Forbes. After several decades of a difficult battle to give women equal rights (which from my point of view is still a “work in progress”), Mr. Michael Noer’s article is to me (and I am sure to many female and male readers) very disrespectful and biased.

But there is an irony in this whole thing… who do you think, Mr. Noer and Editors of Forbes Magazine, are your female readers? Do you think that it’s a mediocre woman? Do you think that it’s a woman with no education and no career and ambition? Of course not, it is most likely to be the business women with higher education and a career that Mr. Noer portrays in a very negative way – one, according to the article, that is likely to be a cheater, selfish, and unhappy.

After reading that article, I am very clear that a career woman like me should never buy again a Forbes magazine that publishes the lousy articles of clueless and uneducated people like Mr. Noer. To “make it up”, Forbes published a counter part article from Elizabeth Corcovan. Thank you Mrs. Corcovan, however, “Don’t Marry a Career Women” should not have been published in business magazine in the first place, so I am sorry for the publication but that counter part article wont make your female readers (especially the business women) feel better.

Mr. Noer, I am very sorry if you had a rocky relationship or a failed marriage with a career woman, but the reality is that if a woman or a man cheats or is unhappy in a marriage it has nothing to do with his/her career. That’s an easy justification and an untrue generalization to a much more complex issue. Your manipulation of “studies” to support your “theory” is outrageous!

It doesn’t surprise me that there are more divorces nowadays than in our grandparent’s time. In the past Mr. Noer, more women stayed in abusive marriages and put up with cheating or verbal and physical mistreatment because they couldn’t support their children and they didn’t have any options…that has changed. I think it is a shame that there are more divorces than in the past, but to be honest with you Mr. Noer, I am happy and feel relieved to be part of a different generation of women who wouldn’t put up with domestic violence…who understand and defend the importance of equal rights…who have dreams and goals…who have choices and are willing to use that power.

After traveling more than 40 countries and seeing first hand the repression and submission of women in different parts of the world, I am VERY proud to be a career woman, I am very proud to have a Masters degree and speak three languages (more education than what you think women should have in order to be good wives), I am very proud and happy to be financially independent, I am very happy that I will marry the man I love and not the man who can be just a provider. I am happy to have the choice to marry a man would support my dreams and respect me as an individual and doesn’t look at me as a trophy wife to show me off or think of me as a potential maid…I am happy to be a woman with values that understands the importance of commitment and family. I am very happy and PROUD to be the career woman like many other businesswomen of the 21-century whom you, Mr. Noer, have such a low respect for. You definitely don’t deserve to be an editor at Forbes.

08-25-2006 04:35 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
miscwit
Contributor
miscwit

Might I recommend a subscription to Cat Fancy magazine instead?

08-25-2006 04:43 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
jlseagull
Contributor
jlseagull
Funny, I went ahead and SUBSCRIBED FOR A YEAR on the basis of this article just yesterday.

I’m proud of ya Forbes, for daring to break the Lace Curtain! Keep it up!

08-25-2006 04:43 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
zacharias
Regular Contributor
zacharias
“Funny, I went ahead and SUBSCRIBED FOR A YEAR on the basis of this article just yesterday.”

Hey, I did too. And, I made a point of mentioning that it was specifically because of this article.

08-25-2006 04:46 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
PolishKnight
Contributor
PolishKnight

Absolutely hilarious.

“DeAr Forbes.  i am a verry edukated kareer woman…  I will someday marry a wealthy man^H^H^H^H^H^H^H^H liberated man who pays for^H^H^H^H^Hsupports me.”

Good luck with that.

08-25-2006 04:48 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
toadman
Regular Contributor
toadman

“Michael Noer’s article is to me (and I am sure to many female and male readers) very disrespectful and biased.”

Quite the assumption there. Respect is earned and not an entitlement, Missy. As a careerist Femmy you should know better, or did they not cover that in Women’s Studies?

Message Edited by toadman on 08-25-2006 04:57 PM

08-25-2006 04:56 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
phoebus1996
Newbie
phoebus1996
Oh, dry up.

I am also a career woman with a master’s degree, and I have no problem with that article. You are the problem, lady: A bitter, shrill harpy who doesn’t want anyone else to have an opinion that’s different from yours (witness your belief the article should never have been printed in the first place). I found Mr. Noer’s article at turns funny, stupid and right-on. Angry women who take themselves too seriously give all career girls a bad name.

I read a tirade like yours and I understand completely why someone like Mr. Noer would think career women make horrible dates AND wives.

Message Edited by phoebus1996 on 08-25-2006 05:00 PM

Message Edited by phoebus1996 on 08-25-2006 05:01 PM

08-25-2006 04:59 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
Antiriad
Regular Contributor
Antiriad

PolishKnight wrote:
Absolutely hilarious.

“DeAr Forbes. i am a verry edukated kareer woman… I will someday marry a wealthy man^H^H^H^H^H^H^H^H liberated man who pays for^H^H^H^H^Hsupports me.”

Good luck with that.

That made me laugh so hard, I almost fell off my chair

08-25-2006 05:20 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
Cmax
Newbie
Cmax
Your English isn’t too hot for such a well-educated career woman.

Message Edited by Cmax on 08-25-2006 05:32 PM

08-25-2006 05:31 PM

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
takingitback
Newbie
takingitback
Add me as another one to the list of guys who subscribed because of the article.

08-26-2006 08:21 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.
Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)

Re: A letter to Forbes and Mr. Noer from a VERY Proud Career Woman (now former Forbes Reader)
m3407
Newbie
m3407

Wow… when I decided to write this letter, I had in mind Mr. Noer and the editors of Forbes. Anyway for those who replied, as I reader of Forbes magazine, I just felt that I had the right to tell them how I felt. I was truly surprised to see that I got these responses. I wasn’t going to reply, but you took the time to write about my letter, so I thought I should respond to you…

To Mr.Cmax and the PolishKnight, your responses were the best. You guys made me laugh so hard…let me tell you why. Just for your information, I am not American. However, I speak three languages fluently. Can you guys speak more than one? Don’t worry, I don’t really care…(perhaps the Polish Knight is Polish and speaks Polish??? Or you are just a “clean” Knight? LOL. “Sory, my pur englishh make me confuse son timeeee” Just kidding. LOL

Anyway, I am certainly not ashamed of my English guys; totally the opposite, I feel lucky to be able to speak different languages! That has opened to me many doors. You make fun of my English and my education, but the reality is that although English is not my first language (and “isn’t too hot for such a well-educated career woman” as Mr. Cmax replied), I am currently a senior executive at a transnational company at the age of 28. LOL. Not bad, don’t you think? I must have “something” (besides my English) to make a large-scale company hired me and pay me what they do…

Once again, I wrote this letter to the publication because I used to buy Forbes magazine and I wanted to express, as a reader, how I felt. Some of you found it offensive and some of you seemed to enjoy it.

But your reply PolishKnight was really hilarious…my co-workers, my boyfriend and I have laughed so much about it. After being shocked with Mr. Noer’s article, your joke cheer me up, I have to admit.

On the other hand (and when I think about the article we are talking about in here), it was just sad (but not surprising) to see that the people who replied couldn’t give me an interesting argument that: 1- would support Mr. Noer’s theory and 2-would make me re-evaluate my position towards the magazine. Instead, the only thing I got was just funny replies. I guess that’s the only thing some people can do in the absence of arguments, right? That’s funny, but kind sad at the same time…

To phoebus1996, I am sorry girl if you misunderstood what I said in the letter. I don’t have any problem if other people have different opinions. Everyone has the right to say what he or she wants. If Mr. Noer is in a bar (or somewhere else) talking to his pals about this and giving them advices, I am fine with that. If I see an article like this in another type of magazine or in a newspaper (in the opinion section), it wouldn’t bother me at all. I wrote very clearly in the letter: if I have seen this article in another type of magazine, I would have laughed and ignored it. But Forbes is a well-respected business magazine, so to read an article like was, to me, shocking (Btw, I don’t think an article like “Don’t marry a lazy men” should be in a publication like this either, let’s be serious, I mean there are magazines for that crap,  Forbes is a business magazine!!!). On the other hand, speaking your mind doesnt mean that you are a bitter or an angry person phoebus. Actually, I cant complain about anything because I am a fortunate girl. I am a happy person with a great life…and my career is just part of that. Besides (and this may be the reason why we had different reactions to the article), I’ve visited countries where women are still oppressed and have not options but to stay at home (and let me be clear: not because they want to stay home and raise their children, but because they have to). They don’t have yet, the opportunities and choices we have. I am sorry phoebus1996 if you felt that by writing this letter to Forbes and telling the publication my position as a reader, I “make a bad name” for a career woman like you and make guys dont want to date you. Hey, from my own experience (or maybe I am also lucky in that sense) I have never had problems in that department (dating or having great relationships) just because I have an opinion and say it loud. Once again, Women (career or non-career) should speak their minds, especially if they have the freedom to do it. We are very lucky to have that right. This is my position and I stand by it. Sorry girl and wish you well…

Ok, guys. It is time to put at end to this. This is my last time visit to Forbes.com and I am hurry because I cant wait to buy the Cat Fancy magazine one of you suggested (hummmm… probably i may be able to find in there an actually interesting business article, who knows..) LOL. Good luck to all of you.

08-26-2006 08:12 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

