FORBES CATERING TO WORLDS BUSINESS LEADERS- BUT JUST THE MALE ONES


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – FORBES CATERING TO WORLDS BUSINESS LEADERS- BUT JUST THE MALE ONES

FORBES CATERING TO WORLDS BUSINESS LEADERS- BUT JUST THE MALE ONES
kristyk
Newbie
kristyk

I can’t believe this article was published by Forbes. It’s offensive, and the editors know it. I am not the primary breadwinner in my household, but I do manage all our finances, including all our investing. I have relied on Forbes a number of times to find out more about economic indicators, the markets, etc. I had no idea that the editors (who chose to print this) believed that I should either be working and not married, or staying at home taking care of the household chores and the kids.

This article has changed my opinion of Forbes, and I will no longer use the website or subscribe to the publication. Yes, Forbes, you are getting lots of publicity, which you love– but keep in mind what this is doing to your brand image. I expect this kind of article from a local news channel, an editorial in a newspaper, or a magzine like Maxim– but I don’t expect it from a  publication that caters to “the world’s business leaders,” which, by the way, aren’t all just men.

08-25-2006 04:36 PM

Re: FORBES CATERING TO WORLDS BUSINESS LEADERS- BUT JUST THE MALE ONES
phoebus1996
Newbie
phoebus1996
This career girl respects Forbes for having the guts to give voice to controversial opinions.

Why should someone who doesn’t agree with you be silenced just because you don’t like what he has to say?

Why are you so insecure that you can’t just brush off someone who has different ideas about life?

Kudos to Forbes. In me, they have at least one new female customer.

08-25-2006 05:14 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

