I respect and believe Elizabeth’s counterpoint, but


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – I respect and believe Elizabeth’s counterpoint, but

I respect and believe Elizabeth’s counterpoint, but
orangecountyguy
Newbie
orangecountyguy
I think that statistically, the original article covers the truth.

Again, I am sure Elizabeth’s marriage has all the good elements of a happy relationship in ways that contradict original findings.

However, when you take 1000 marital cases and examine the facts, I tend to believe Michael’s findings.

I also believe that there is something engrained in women about having a man be a breadwinner. Something like wanting to have a taller man. Not sure if that’s based on upbringing or just plain genetics, but I see it over and over again.

This is not to say that women shouldn’t be self-sufficient, I am not saying that at all. It’s better for them to be so.

But it seems that there is just an ingrained greater desire (statistically speaking) in men to provide existantial goods and for women to provide community and bonding goods. I am not sure if I expressed myself appropriately here, but something to this effect is going on in the world.

Thanks everyone,

Lloyd

08-25-2006 03:44 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

