scary….


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – scary….

scary….
student
Newbie
student

I find all the posts on this message board frightening, and disappointing.  I am currently in graduate school, half my class is female, and I think that they too would be very disappointed in many of the men’s attitudes towards women are.  While I do think that if one person in the relationship is staying at home, then it is that person’s responsibility to do most of the house work, cooking & cleaning etc.  I don’t think that is the only thing women are good for, nor should that person only be the woman, as seems to be the overwhelming idea on this message board.

Is this the kind of treatment that you’d want for your daughters?

Is this how you’d want your sons in law to treat your daughters?

Message Edited by student on 08-26-2006 04:23 PM

08-26-2006 04:11 PM

Re: scary….
Marta2003
Regular Contributor
Marta2003

student wrote:
Is this the kind of treatment that you’d want for your daughters?
I can’t imagine why you’d think the answer to that question would be anything but a resounding “yes.”  They don’t have any ability whatsoever to conceive of a better purpose for women than to have their children, cook their meals and clean crap off their commode.  That’s true of their mothers, their wives AND their daughters.

Message Edited by Marta2003 on 08-26-2006 04:40 PM

08-26-2006 04:39 PM

Re: scary….
Termi0n
Regular Contributor
Termi0n

My mom was a career woman and it caused her two divorces, stressed her out, made her neglected us, verbally and mentally abused us, and basicly drove her insane.

So I’ve seen what the article talks about in action. And you girls arent much better.

Message Edited by Termi0n on 08-26-2006 05:06 PM

Women want fried ice. -Arab Proverb

08-26-2006 05:05 PM

Re: scary….
Marta2003
Regular Contributor
Marta2003

Termi0n wrote:
My mom was a career woman and it caused her two divorces, stressed her out, made her neglected us, verbally and mentally abused us, and basicly drove her insane.
Oh yeah, it was her career that drove her insane, not the fact that her husband was a jackass like you (apple never does fall far from the tree) who did not support her in wanting to work.

Whatever.

Message Edited by Marta2003 on 08-26-2006 05:16 PM

08-26-2006 05:16 PM

Re: scary….
Termi0n
Regular Contributor
Termi0n

Marta2003 wrote:

Termi0n wrote:
My mom was a career woman and it caused her two divorces, stressed her out, made her neglected us, verbally and mentally abused us, and basicly drove her insane.
Oh yeah, it was her career that drove her insane, not the fact that her husband was a jackass like you (apple never does fall far from the tree) who did not support her in wanting to work.

Whatever.

Message Edited by Marta2003 on 08-26-2006 05:16 PM

Whatever.

Women want fried ice. -Arab Proverb

08-26-2006 05:19 PM

Re: scary….
sunji
Contributor
sunji

Great comeback, termi0n.

student – yes, you are right, it is terrifying how some men think on this board. Fortunately, they’re not all like that (although the misogynists on here will want you to believe that all men think they way they do, but it’s not true) It is possible to have a career and a happy marriage to a husband who appreciates you. I know because I have those things.

08-26-2006 05:34 PM

Re: scary….
C2shiningC
Contributor
C2shiningC

I agree there’s a lot of women who have great careers and happy marriages as sunji wrote and Michael Noer attests:

“And, of course, many working women are indeed happily and fruitfully married…”

08-26-2006 05:56 PM

Re: scary….
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38
student, About half my college courses were taught to me by marxist feminist instructors, several were even taught by male feminists. The thing I learned is that there’s a big difference between theory and reality. Several of my college buddies have already been raped in divorce court, and several others are staying in miserable marriages simply because they fear being raped in divorce court. I’ve been engaged several times already, but after the engagement something always changes, so no dice for me. After seeing what my buddies went through and are going through, I suggest you think long and hard before you buy into the lies of feminism. If you think you’re going to be the man who beats the odds, I’d say think again. When you got 50 to 60 percent of marriage today ending in divorce, and you got other men who are still married are miserable in marriage — it’s pretty obvious that you run pretty high odds of getting divorced or being miserable in marriage. Like I say though, if you think you’re going to be “the one” who beats those odds, good luck with that!

08-26-2006 06:41 PM

Re: scary….
Pelican
Regular Contributor
Pelican
I’d be very interested to the cause behind these divorces. See how many are due to cheating (on either side, though it’s statistically more likely to be the man), see how many women left because their husbands believed in “women’s work”, see how many were due to documented abuse. And then see what the reasons were for the one-third of men who press divorces.

Actually, let’s just start with that one: why do men divorce women? What are the most prominent reasons?

08-26-2006 07:10 PM

Re: scary….
AnnG
Contributor
AnnG

Sunji — So do I!  I have a wonderful husband.  My career enabled me to wait for the right guy, instead of feeling like I needed to accept one of the earlier offers I had (nice guys, but I have no doubt I would have been either divorced or very unhappy if I’d accepted).

We’re a bit unusual, in that I have a Ph.D and my husband has a GED.  However, my family taught me not to equate education  or career with either intelligence or ambition.

[I’ve deleted a bunch of irrelevant personal stuff.  Decided not to share.]

And, this blue-collar, ex-Marine, Harley dude is respectful of my life choices and talents, just as I am of his.  People who only know us from work still scratch their heads when they find out we’re married, but no one who knows us outside of work is surprised at all.  We’re crazy about each other.

So, “Student” — don’t worry.  There are men out there who will not be afraid of your intelligence or success, and believe me, they’re not all what Arnold would call “girly men.”  Forget about those who scold and say, “you can’t have it all!”  Of course you can’t have it all.  Anyone over the age of six should know that.  You can have a good career and a good marriage, though, as long as you find someone who shares your priorities.

Message Edited by AnnG on 08-27-2006 12:34 PM

08-26-2006 07:17 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – scary….

Re: scary….
Cassius
Regular Contributor
Cassius
Dear student,

I assume you are female, would you be willing to marry down to a man who has a lower income than you, maybe even an lower education ? The reason so many women stay at home is that they marry up to a man making more money usually WAY more than themselfs. This of course means that the couple agrees on the man to be the one who keeps working. Most men would indeed want a man to threat their daughters “That way”. Try to get your parents to make them like your minimum wage bf which agreed to stay at home while you work.

08-26-2006 07:48 PM

Re: scary….
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38

Pelican wrote:
I’d be very interested to the cause behind these divorces. See how many are due to cheating (on either side, though it’s statistically more likely to be the man), see how many women left because their husbands believed in “women’s work”, see how many were due to documented abuse. And then see what the reasons were for the one-third of men who press divorces.

Actually, let’s just start with that one: why do men divorce women? What are the most prominent reasons?

Last I checked, about twice as many divorces are petitioned by the wife, roughly 2/3 of divorces are petitioned by the wife and 1/3 by the husband today. Frankly I don’t think that the hardcore feminists will be satisfied until 100% of divorces are petitioned by the wife. I read an article a few months ago how Congress cut funding for divorce statistic compilation and analyzation, which means the government doesn’t care or doesn’t want the public to know definitively what is causing so many divorces, but we got plenty of government money to research how cow farts affect global warming.

08-26-2006 09:09 PM

Re: scary….
sunhawk
Regular Contributor
sunhawk
i agree with your sentiment

08-26-2006 10:02 PM

Re: scary….
Hujo
Contributor
Hujo

Hey student the women arnt being peaches either. Double standards much?

08-29-2006 02:22 PM

Re: scary….
student
Newbie
student

I would tend to agree with that…what could have been an interesting discussion, has been turned into a bunch of name calling by both parties.

08-30-2006 01:04 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

