They both missed the mark.


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – They both missed the mark.

They both missed the mark.
TTyler
Newbie
TTyler

Both these individuals, who I assume make over $30,000 a year, assume that career women are that way only becuase they choose to be.  I have a career but I would rather stay home with my child.  The truth is unless you are fortunate enough to have been able to go to college and you mary a college graduate then you probably need two incomes to have a decent life and afford kids, a house ect…

Here’s the real deal.  I have a two income family and we have to because if we didn’t both work we would not be able to own a home, a  car or anything of value being neither of us have college educations.  This is the real world that most of us live in.  You assume everyone has money for a vacation and savings if they both work, not true.

By the way Divorce is caused by both people not just one.  What ever happened to “until death do us part”.  Society should start taking their vows more seriously.  We live in a disposible society where everything is ok and this is just not true.  The problem is not career women or that women should stay home with their kids,it’s that it’s become a struggle to have a choice.

08-25-2006 04:06 PM

Re: They both missed the mark.
oct62001
Newbie
oct62001
I couldn’t agree more…Except, both my husband and I have graduate degrees and we still both need to work in order to afford life’s basic necessities. Between our student loans and the costs of daily living (housing, food, gas, etc.) it is unlikely that I will ever be able to afford the luxury of being a stay-at-home mom. By the way…did I mention my husband works in public education. That’s an entirely different subject, but reality for us is that there is no way a public school teacher can earn enough income to be a sole breadwinner. So in the meantime, I will be a “career woman” and my marriage will suffer.

08-25-2006 04:23 PM

Re: They both missed the mark.
TTyler
Newbie
TTyler

They really don’t know what it’s like out here do they!  You are right about the college thing.  My brother has a bachelors degree and works at a book store.  I did not mean that it applied to everyone but rather two incomes are necessary for most of us to survive.  I could not agree with you more.  Because of this our marriages and our children must suffer.

08-25-2006 04:27 PM

Re: They both missed the mark.
lizzzy
Newbie
lizzzy
I agree.

I think many career women (maybe not all, but a good portion of them)who end up having kids do want to have the choice of staying home with them if they want to (even if it is just for the first couple of years of their life), but they don’t have that choice because most families do need two incomes just to survive (afford the basic necessities of life).

I know so many ‘career’ women who are stressed out and misrerable at their jobs, and wish they could be home with their kids. I know other ladies who may not be miserable at their jobs, but would still prefer to be at home with their kids, but can’t, because they can’t afford it.

As a ‘career’ woman, with an MBA, I know my priorities totally changed after I had kids. I no longer had the same desires to move up the corporate ladder.

08-25-2006 06:18 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

