Both are missing the boat!


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Both are missing the boat!

Both are missing the boat!
ktcowdog
Newbie
ktcowdog

I’m glad that Elizabeth and her husband make enough to have their house cleaned, etc.   Not all educated wives (and husbands) are lucky enough to make the big bucks.   Both of these columnists are elitist.  Look at the real world, folks!

My hubby and I are public servants (each with a Master’s plus) and just barely clear the $30,000 apiece limit.  We help each other with our family, our home, and our careers–what a concept–isn’t that what marriage truly is?  We support each other, learn together, help each other, and love each other.  Part of our happiness together is that we are both happy people–in part due to the fact that our daily jobs are interesting, productive, and fulfilling.  I know many public servants who have had wonderfully successful marriages–and who have raised children who have gone on to do the same.  I’d bet that the lower paid career families are the strongest–they have learned how to work together–and that togetherness is what keeps their families strong.

08-28-2006 07:17 PM

Re: Both are missing the boat!
Pam
Regular Visitor
Pam
Great, “ktcowdog”! My husband of 37 years & I are “middle-middle income” people, & while we never had extremely demanding careers, we still had some rough patches (especially during the early ’70’s and the promotion of “Open Marriage”–we both suffered from that one!) But I just think that the bottom line in male/female relations is not roles, but KINDNESS and TRUST.–Cheers, Pam

08-28-2006 07:32 PM

Re: Both are missing the boat!
Romulus
Regular Contributor
Romulus
I tend to agree with this. I know of a family with a similar financial situation to yours. Not surprisingly, the husband and wife are happy and the kids are well behaved even though they don’t have many material possessions. I guess they have to depend on each other to survive, they don’t have any other choice.

08-28-2006 07:49 PM

Re: Both are missing the boat!
minx12
Regular Contributor
minx12

ktcowdog. My DH and I are the same way. We make a little over $30000 per year each and work opposing shifts just so we can raise our kids. It’s not an ideal situation, but it works for us.

We are a team. United. We make decisions together and respect each others opinion. We love and cherish one another. We both take care of the home. We both lovingly raise our children. We may not college educated or make big bucks, but we make it work.

I agree with you, it seems those with less money seem to be happier. Men don’t have to shiver and quake about “some gold digging beotch taking what I’ve worked so hard for” and women don’t have to  worry about getting traded in for the next younger cuter model.

Just my observations from reading all the posts the last week. It seems the more you have to lose, the more extreme you are. But those are just my observations. I place little faith in statistics.

Remember the old adage. “There are lies. There are **bleep** lies, and there are statistics

08-28-2006 08:27 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

