Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want

Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
miscwit
Contributor
miscwit

The female respondants here talk a very good game here (when not hurling insults and attempting to shame men) regarding their feelings about men. But the responses here a strictly anecdotal evidence and are completely useless as a statistic illustrating a social trend.

For the real truth about what women want from men, look at the dating websites. It’s fascinating.

Check for the income requirements

Look for words that indicate a desire for a strong man

Note the profiles and how women are looking to marry up

Note the absence of statements such as “I want to make my partner happy”.

The dating websites reveal the truth.

08-28-2006 09:56 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
moneyneversleep
Regular Contributor
moneyneversleep

That is so amusingly correct.   Well put.

08-28-2006 09:57 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
fishnamedjames
Regular Contributor
fishnamedjames
I think you might end up with a sampling problem.

08-28-2006 09:59 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
Doc_Savage
Regular Contributor
Doc_Savage

What dating websites are you refering to?

Ones like these:

http://sugardaddie.com

http://www.wealthymen.com

08-28-2006 10:31 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
miscwit
Contributor
miscwit

What dating websites are you refering to?

Ones like these:

http://sugardaddie.com

http://www.wealthymen.com

While those are highly amusing and very elucidating, Match.com and its ilk do a perfectly fine job of revealing what American women want in their potential mates.

08-28-2006 10:44 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38
When I take a gander through the personal ads women put up on my local craig’s list, they make me wanna puke. I should start looking at foreign women but I read that the feminists got a new law effective this year called IMBRA–i think it stands for International Marriage Broker Relations? Act, I don’t know for sure, but I guess the feminists want to put the kabosh to relationships between American men and foreign women because so many American men are probably puking their guts out looking at they typical Ameriskank that puts ads on craig’s list, and going overseas for decent women. It looks to me like the femiskanks are getting desperate when they have to pass laws which have no other obvious intent but to try to force American men to accept typical Ameriskanks.

08-28-2006 11:20 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

miscwit wrote:
The female respondants here talk a very good game here (when not hurling insults and attempting to shame men) regarding their feelings about men. But the responses here a strictly anecdotal evidence and are completely useless as a statistic illustrating a social trend.

For the real truth about what women want from men, look at the dating websites. It’s fascinating.

Check for the income requirements

Look for words that indicate a desire for a strong man

Note the profiles and how women are looking to marry up

Note the absence of statements such as “I want to make my partner happy”.

The dating websites reveal the truth.

Um…

Okay:  Y’see, you start off by suggesting that the women on this forum are of a certain demographic that should be ignored because they’re only a percentage of the population of women as a whole.

Then, you direct readers to a certain demographic of women who are only a small percentage of the population of women as a whole.

Do you see the problem, there…?  Probably not.  I’ll simplify:

A certain percentage of women – whether they participate in online dating or not – are, in fact, looking for breadwinners, for whatever reason.

How is it you can so blindly/stupidly allow that percentage to stand for ALL women?  If one kind of food doesn’t taste good, will that then translate into ALL food not tasting good?  (Ridiculous, right?)

Or, to bring it closer to man-home:  “If you look at the dating websites, they tell the truth about ALL men, which is that ALL men are only looking for some barely-legal dumb-ass floozy they can treat like a blow-up doll because men aren’t quite up to the task of behaving like rational, feeling, emotionally mature adults with women who have actual minds.”

Now, wouldn’t that just be a silly judgment to make about ALL men just because a certain percentage of them fit the bill?

Message Edited by ftesyektsi on 08-28-2006 11:25 AM

08-28-2006 11:23 AM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
marymmac
Newbie
marymmac
I’m going to have to agree about your sampling of women. As a career woman myself, I have to acknowledge the fact that I hated most women growing up. I thought they were clingy, two-faced, lying… well, just not good people. Women who post ads on craigslist, are NOT looking for a marriage and if they say they are, they’re looking in the wrong spot. The women you should be interested in are in the real world. Yes, they’re busy. Yes, they make money of their own and possibly more than you. Guess what, they don’t care (unless they are one of the women described above).
Marriages where 2 people work long hours dont work because either the people weren’t right for each other and being away doesn’t allow for that amazing sex they were having, or because they don’t end up growing and adapting to life TOGETHER. Life brings on so many changes to both women and men, and while many marriages have the opportunity to grow and develop together, some dont.
On that note, what about any studies done on families that do fulfill the stereotypical family- stay at home mom, working dad, multiple young children- who’s to say they dont stay together but are just plain miserable. Most of the families such as those that I know of, stay together because the stay-at-home mom that you guys seem to love so much is willing to suffer through being cheated on and hardly appreciated for the kid’s happiness. Personally, I’d rather divorce- but that’s because I’m an independent woman who know’s I can support myself. Try telling that to a life-long stay at home mom.
Maybe the divorce rate is so high in these 2-career marriages because the women are stronger and put up with less.

08-28-2006 12:01 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38

ftesyektsi wrote:

Or, to bring it closer to man-home:  “If you look at the dating websites, they tell the truth about ALL men, which is that ALL men are only looking for some barely-legal dumb-ass floozy they can treat like a blow-up doll because men aren’t quite up to the task of behaving like rational, feeling, emotionally mature adults with women who have actual minds.”

Now, wouldn’t that just be a silly judgment to make about ALL men just because a certain percentage of them fit the bill?

Message Edited by ftesyektsi on 08-28-2006 11:25 AM

I think any red-blooded male with a pulse would not find your assessment of ALL men to be too off base. Good research and well thought out! You get the gold star for today.

A few weeks ago, I went to the mall and as I was parking my car, this “barely-legal dumb-ass looking floozy” was wearing knee-high boots and a miniskirt that barely covered her ass, i was checking her out but her face was kinda ugly for my tastes. As she is walking to her car, this elderly couple was walking towards the floozy, and as the floozy walked by the elderly couple the 80 year old man turns around and stares at the floozy for about 15 seconds, the old man’s wife didn’t even say a word she just waited for her husband to stop gaping while she shook her head back and forth a little as if she was thinking in her mind , “harold, you crazy old **bleep**, what you gaping at that young floozy for”. When the 80 year old guy was done fantasizing about the floozy, he walked a few feet to catch-up with his wife and she grabbed his hand and they went hand-in-hand to the store. I was sitting in my car laughing my ass off while watching that.

08-28-2006 12:10 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38

marymmac wrote:
I’m going to have to agree about your sampling of women. As a career woman myself, I have to acknowledge the fact that I hated most women growing up. I thought they were clingy, two-faced, lying… well, just not good people. Women who post ads on craigslist, are NOT looking for a marriage and if they say they are, they’re looking in the wrong spot. The women you should be interested in are in the real world. Yes, they’re busy. Yes, they make money of their own and possibly more than you. Guess what, they don’t care (unless they are one of the women described above).
Marriages where 2 people work long hours dont work because either the people weren’t right for each other and being away doesn’t allow for that amazing sex they were having, or because they don’t end up growing and adapting to life TOGETHER. Life brings on so many changes to both women and men, and while many marriages have the opportunity to grow and develop together, some dont.
On that note, what about any studies done on families that do fulfill the stereotypical family- stay at home mom, working dad, multiple young children- who’s to say they dont stay together but are just plain miserable. Most of the families such as those that I know of, stay together because the stay-at-home mom that you guys seem to love so much is willing to suffer through being cheated on and hardly appreciated for the kid’s happiness. Personally, I’d rather divorce- but that’s because I’m an independent woman who know’s I can support myself. Try telling that to a life-long stay at home mom.
Maybe the divorce rate is so high in these 2-career marriages because the women are stronger and put up with less.

Well if you would rather divorce when the going gets tough, then make sure that if you get married that you change the wedding vows from “for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in health and in sickness, and until death do we part” to “for better not worse, for richer not poorer, for good health and not sickness, and until the BBD (Bigger, Better Deal) comes along.”

08-28-2006 12:20 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

porkchops38 wrote:

marymmac wrote:
I’m going to have to agree about your sampling of women. As a career woman myself, I have to acknowledge the fact that I hated most women growing up. I thought they were clingy, two-faced, lying… well, just not good people. Women who post ads on craigslist, are NOT looking for a marriage and if they say they are, they’re looking in the wrong spot. The women you should be interested in are in the real world. Yes, they’re busy. Yes, they make money of their own and possibly more than you. Guess what, they don’t care (unless they are one of the women described above).
Marriages where 2 people work long hours dont work because either the people weren’t right for each other and being away doesn’t allow for that amazing sex they were having, or because they don’t end up growing and adapting to life TOGETHER. Life brings on so many changes to both women and men, and while many marriages have the opportunity to grow and develop together, some dont.
On that note, what about any studies done on families that do fulfill the stereotypical family- stay at home mom, working dad, multiple young children- who’s to say they dont stay together but are just plain miserable. Most of the families such as those that I know of, stay together because the stay-at-home mom that you guys seem to love so much is willing to suffer through being cheated on and hardly appreciated for the kid’s happiness. Personally, I’d rather divorce- but that’s because I’m an independent woman who know’s I can support myself. Try telling that to a life-long stay at home mom.
Maybe the divorce rate is so high in these 2-career marriages because the women are stronger and put up with less.

Well if you would rather divorce when the going gets tough, then make sure that if you get married that you change the wedding vows from “for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in health and in sickness, and until death do we part” to “for better not worse, for richer not poorer, for good health and not sickness, and until the BBD (Bigger, Better Deal) comes along.”

Most vows are made of unrealistic promises, anyway.

And porkchop, your fear is showing.  Maybe it’ll make you feel better to think that it might be YOU who finds someone better…?  I mean, your future woman isn’t DEFINITELY going to dump you (unless, well, you stay the way you are…but if you get a really, really dumb woman you shouldn’t have a problem).

08-28-2006 12:47 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
marymmac
Newbie
marymmac
Wow. My intent was not to imply that I would leave my HUSBAND- but that if I were in a relationship PRE-MARRIAGE I would have no problem reverting to single status until I find the right person. In fact, my discussion of growing together sounds that way too- and let me clarify again- if you’re in a marriage, you should do you best to work through it. However, if you have ever witnessed a bad marriage, then you’ll know some things are inconsolable.
I can’t change the way you read my article or the way you interpret it, but here’s some news: not all women believe in divorce. Not all career women will leave their husbands. Not all women who respond to these things are “feminazis”. And to top it off, not all women disagree with these issues. I for one have a hard time with these facts but I can see where the come from. All I’m saying is it’s not JUST the women who make the relationship degrade.
Women are strong, loving, and mainly forgiving people. But they don’t want to be constantly forgiving, or constantly giving for that matter. Relationship include two people and when both of those people work, more of the house work is given to women on top of their career. It’s stressful and it’s rough- some can handle it and some cant. If you think that my response is black and white, you’re wrong. Marriages are a complete grey area- but that’s the point. Two shades, two people, having to deal and live and make decisions together. So get out of this statistical nightmare. Life is crazy and relationships are worse but worth it. And if you are lucky enough to get an intelligent woman with a career, she’ll still back you through thick and thin.

08-28-2006 12:58 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38
“Most vows are made of unrealistic promises, anyway.”

Thanks for being honest, let’s hope you share that same honesty with any males you come in relational contact with.

“And porkchop, your fear is showing. Maybe it’ll make you feel better to think that it might be YOU who finds someone better…? I mean, your future woman isn’t DEFINITELY going to dump you (unless, well, you stay the way you are…but if you get a really, really dumb woman you shouldn’t have a problem).”

All I know is that my next girlfriend is going to be better than my current one, it always turns out that way for me, time and time again… but that doesn’t mean I’d invite the anti-male court system into any of my relationships by getting legally married, even if my next girlfriend is perfect, for she could be a perfect illusion. She could even be one of those girls who secretly thinks that marriage vows “are made of unrealistic promises anyways”, but never tells me those thoughts until after I sign my name and assets on the dotted line.

08-28-2006 01:16 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38

marymmac wrote:
Wow. My intent was not to imply that I would leave my HUSBAND- but that if I were in a relationship PRE-MARRIAGE I would have no problem reverting to single status until I find the right person. In fact, my discussion of growing together sounds that way too- and let me clarify again- if you’re in a marriage, you should do you best to work through it. However, if you have ever witnessed a bad marriage, then you’ll know some things are inconsolable.
I can’t change the way you read my article or the way you interpret it, but here’s some news: not all women believe in divorce. Not all career women will leave their husbands. Not all women who respond to these things are “feminazis”. And to top it off, not all women disagree with these issues. I for one have a hard time with these facts but I can see where the come from. All I’m saying is it’s not JUST the women who make the relationship degrade.
Women are strong, loving, and mainly forgiving people. But they don’t want to be constantly forgiving, or constantly giving for that matter. Relationship include two people and when both of those people work, more of the house work is given to women on top of their career. It’s stressful and it’s rough- some can handle it and some cant. If you think that my response is black and white, you’re wrong. Marriages are a complete grey area- but that’s the point. Two shades, two people, having to deal and live and make decisions together. So get out of this statistical nightmare. Life is crazy and relationships are worse but worth it. And if you are lucky enough to get an intelligent woman with a career, she’ll still back you through thick and thin.

Cupcake, in your first post on this thread, you said, “Personally, I’d rather divorce- but that’s because I’m an independent woman who know’s I can support myself.” Now, in the english language, the word “divorce” usually implies that there was first a marriage, and the context in which you used the word “divorce” clearly implied that you were referring to “divorce” in that way. So, either you women need to brush-up on your english language skills, or just admit when your true feelings show your ugly natures, and just stop all this back-tracking nonsense. I know the feminist anti-male society keeps telling you cupcakes that you are not responsible for anything you do or say that is wrong, but in my world I call ’em like I see ’em. There’s no double-standard in my world. If you can’t stand the heat then get out of the kitchen, or perhaps I should say that if you can’t stand the heat then get back in the kitchen.

08-28-2006 01:24 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

porkchops38 wrote:
“Most vows are made of unrealistic promises, anyway.”

Thanks for being honest, let’s hope you share that same honesty with any males you come in relational contact with.

“And porkchop, your fear is showing. Maybe it’ll make you feel better to think that it might be YOU who finds someone better…? I mean, your future woman isn’t DEFINITELY going to dump you (unless, well, you stay the way you are…but if you get a really, really dumb woman you shouldn’t have a problem).”

All I know is that my next girlfriend is going to be better than my current one, it always turns out that way for me, time and time again… but that doesn’t mean I’d invite the anti-male court system into any of my relationships by getting legally married, even if my next girlfriend is perfect, for she could be a perfect illusion. She could even be one of those girls who secretly thinks that marriage vows “are made of unrealistic promises anyways”, but never tells me those thoughts until after I sign my name and assets on the dotted line.

What I mean is that it’s unrealistic to PROMISE to love someone forever.  People change.  People might start to treat you like crap.  You can’t PROMISE something over which you have little control, so to stand up there and say vows that are almost humanly impossible is hypocritical.

Promises to try to always respect someone, treat someone well, and be true to them are, however, possible, because those are all behaviors.

And my husband feels the same way.  Thanks for your concern on his behalf.

08-28-2006 02:11 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
khankrumthebulg
Regular Contributor
khankrumthebulg
It is amusing what Women have decided Marriage is about “Love” i.e. their transitory feelings. That are subject to change. I agree if this is what you Marry for you are doomed to fail. Marriage and its meaning has changed most dramatically in our culture. Women’s expectations are simply not realistic anymore.

And Marriage is unlike any form of Contract Law out there. It is in fact an Adhesion Agreement. It is a completely one sided agreement. With Benefits and rights for Women, and Obligations and Responsibilities for Men. With a Third Party taking the side and protecting the Party that breaks the contract. This is insanity. Would you buy a car with a 50% likelihood of getting a Lemon? Of course not.

Men and Women are both Relationship Consumers. We are both looking for our “Best Deal” for happiness. Women have managed through their Collective Efforts to get a one Sided Deal in their Favor. Men are saying in overwhelming numbers 24% according to Rutgers University’s study of Marriage NO to Marriage EVER.

Men are adopting Mitigation Strategies to maximize their protection and rights. We want Equity and Fairness. This is reasonable. When we voice our problems and issues, Women insult us, attempt to shame us, and villify us. We have heard this language many of us now for 4 decades. Ladies it is falling on Deaf Ears.

08-28-2006 03:16 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38
“What I mean is that it’s unrealistic to PROMISE to love someone forever. People change. People might start to treat you like crap. You can’t PROMISE something over which you have little control, so to stand up there and say vows that are almost humanly impossible is hypocritical.”

So in other words, you are saying that people should treat other people in exact proportion to the way that other people treat them. It sounds nice on paper, but here let me show you the fallacy of this thinking. First off, you have the problem of ascertaining when a person is truly wronged. One person may feel grievously wronged if someone cuts in front of them at a check-out line, while another person facing the same situation may ignore a person cutting in front of them in the check-out line because they are not in a hurry. In a relationship, there are no magical buzzers that go off automatically when someone does something grievously wrong, if there were then your fallacious premise might hold more water, but then you’d still have one more point to contend with.

The other point you’d have to contend with, is that once you invent that magical buzzer device to automatically go off when someone in a marital relationship does something grievously wrong and identifies the offender, then you would have to contend with rectifying the actions of the offender. Your premise says that the offender should be treated in direct proportion of the offense in return. So, let’s suppose for example, that I’m married and my wife has an adulterous affair for 2 months and then one day I come home and find that our magical buzzer has been going off for two months signaling that my wife has been having an affair and grievously wronging me. Therefore according to your premise, I should be entitled to my having my own 2 month affair with the woman of my choice as a way of rectifying my hurt feelings, i.e. “evening the score”. I’m not sure you’ve heard before, but there’s an old wise and truthful statement that says, “two wrongs don’t make a right”. What happens is that vengeance becomes the rule of the road, and the ante gets upped each time one person is wronged because in the real world there’s no magical buzzer identifying each wrong and the severity of the wrong, so each person operates on their own schedule of what is wrong and what is the severity of the wrong, and things just spiral out of control from there.

I’m not telling you how to live your life, but in my life I will not lower my standards just so I can avoid the appearance of being a hypocrite. Rather, I will set my standards high and realize that when I fall short, or when my hypothetical wife falls short, I/we can take comfort in knowing that I/we tried as best as I/we could have, and also so that instead of taking vengeance on myself/herself/ourselves, I/we can practice forgiveness. That’s called “taking the high road”, and if that appears hypocritical to you, well so be it.

When I see about 70% of divorces today are filed by the wife, such statistics show me that many women today are just like you, they operate by their own schedule of what is right/wrong and when they feel, think or perceive they are wronged, they are vengeful and vindictive and they bring in the “big guns” of divorce lawyers and divorce court either for threat or for real, and their wedding day vows of “until death do we part” were just as fake as their white wedding dresses, to their unsuspecting male victims.

One thing that seems to be lost too, is when there are children involved in a marriage. Given the statistics that show that children that grow up in single parent homes have the odds stacked against them in the game of life, coupled with the fact that 70% of divorces today are filed by the wife — such indicates that today’s typical divorcing woman must be either so self-centered that she is cold, heartless, and callous toward her children — elsewise she is completely clueless and ignorant of the bleak odds she will be subjecting her children to in the future. So, take your pick, cold and callous, or clueless and ignorant.

08-28-2006 04:26 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

porkchops38 wrote:
“What I mean is that it’s unrealistic to PROMISE to love someone forever. People change. People might start to treat you like crap. You can’t PROMISE something over which you have little control, so to stand up there and say vows that are almost humanly impossible is hypocritical.”

So in other words, you are saying that people should treat other people in exact proportion to the way that other people treat them.

No. I’m saying it’s unrealistic to promise to love someone forever.  And it’s digging your own depression pit to lock yourself no-matter-what into a relationship until the day you die.  I will be true, I will try to always treat him with respect, and I will be the best partner I can be, but if I fall out of love and there’s no hope of reclaiming it, I won’t stay married.  If I married some schmo who started beating me, I wouldn’t stay married. If I married a man who later cheated on me, I would not stay married.

I don’t believe in “no matter what.”  That’s as ludicrous as actually believing in such a thing as unconditional romantic love.

Part of love IS the way someone treats you.  Would you love someone who treated you bad?  No.  And that doesn’t mean anything but that you care about yourself.  Why WOULD we love someone who doesn’t behave in a loving way toward us?

I’m no masochist.

08-28-2006 04:33 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38
“Would you buy a car with a 50% likelihood of getting a Lemon?”

Certainly not Khank.

Not only that,when I go to Best Buy or Circuit City to buy my latest techno gadgets, they always try to sell me “service contracts” which I always decline. My reasoning to decline the “service contracts” is that if the product I’m buying fails I just throw it away and never buy anything of that brand again. It’s called voting brands with your pocketbook. So, far I’ve never bought a high-ticket item that did not meet my expectations so I’ve never yet had to vote against a brand with my pocketbook. When it comes to the crap women today are selling, they are selling second-hand used equipment and then they are demanding that I have to buy a service contract on their second-hand used equipment if I wanna marry them. So if I buy this crap, then after I buy, if something goes wrong with the equipment I bought, then I’m automatically labelled as the idiot that don’t know how to use the equipment properly! Then they demand that I bring the equipment back to the store, and instead of getting my money back they tell me I’m supposed to keep paying the service contract even though I don’t own the equipment anymore! If any judge saw a contract like that in the real world, he would laugh and throw the case out of court, but if that same contract has “marriage” stamped on it today, the judge will automatically wipe the laughing face into a sober face and act like the contract actually has merit!

08-28-2006 04:47 PM

Re: Dating Websites Reveal What Women Really Want
porkchops38
Regular Contributor
porkchops38

ftesyektsi wrote:

>

Part of love IS the way someone treats you.  Would you love someone who treated you bad?  No.  And that doesn’t mean anything but that you care about yourself.  Why WOULD we love someone who doesn’t behave in a loving way toward us?

I’m no masochist.

The only way I could possibly hold your views is if I truly thought and believed that I were god’s gift to the opposite sex, i.e. that I am perfect. Perfect people don’t need to forgive, for they are perfect (at least they think they are perfect in their own little minds).

Whatever you do, please don’t have children. If you have children, the day may come when you’re children treat you wrong and you will tell them that you don’t love them anymore, heck you might even divorce your children if they treat you wrong, according to your definintion of what “part of love” is. Rather than saying what a “part of love” is, you should look at what the whole of love is, and a good start to get close to what is the whole of love, would be to not keep a scorecard of wrongs, or rights for that matter…

08-28-2006 05:08 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

