Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?

Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?
CH
Contributor
CH
I notice a theme from many of the working women blaming the government or corporate America for not providing enough incentives to be a stay-at-home mom or providing longer maternity leave. For all of you who have chosen to have kids on your own or walk away from a marriage because you have gotten bored, explain to me why corporations or my tax dollars should assist you in your attempt at having it all?

08-28-2006 10:06 AM

Re: Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?
Marta2003
Regular Contributor
Marta2003

CH wrote:
I notice a theme from many of the working women blaming the government or corporate America for not providing enough incentives to be a stay-at-home mom or providing longer maternity leave. For all of you who have chosen to have kids on your own or walk away from a marriage because you have gotten bored, explain to me why corporations or my tax dollars should assist you in your attempt at having it all?
Not that I’ve done it or would do it, but I can think of a dandy reason:  because if they don’t, they will have to go elsewhere for human capital.

08-28-2006 11:46 AM

Re: Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?
zacharias
Regular Contributor
zacharias
“Not that I’ve done it or would do it, but I can think of a dandy reason: because if they don’t, they will have to go elsewhere for human capital.”

Like Mexico, for example?

08-28-2006 06:44 PM

Re: Did women trade dependency on men for dependency on the government?
Marta2003
Regular Contributor
Marta2003

zacharias wrote:
“Not that I’ve done it or would do it, but I can think of a dandy reason: because if they don’t, they will have to go elsewhere for human capital.”

Like Mexico, for example?
Yeah, over white, christian America’s body.

08-28-2006 07:43 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

