Each House Needs a CEO


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – Each House Needs a CEO

Each House Needs a CEO
cmorales
Newbie
cmorales

Both articles have some good points and some lousy points. My two cents for what they are worth: as a mother of 3, sometimes 4 kiddos for whom I have very high expectations, married for 13 years with the most wonderful and down to earth PhD, a high demand 40+ hrs a week job for both spouses DOES NOT work. Even tough I am an extremely efficient person, and I have a lot of help in my house, I honestly believe that two 40 hrs a week jobs, kiddos and a happy marriage don’t mix together very well. I have done it both and 25-30 hrs for me works great for me and my family.

Running a household, takes a lot of time, cooking, cleaning, homework, driving kiddos to activities is a full time job. I have a Masters degree from the Number 1 School in Industrial Engineering (Georgia Tech) and I am very proud to say that I am the CEO of my house, which includes jobs as a cook, maid, nurse, psychologist, teacher, chauffer, phone teller, financial officer, lawyer, etc, etc. Honestly, I do not see these jobs less fulfilling than my husband’s patents or his technical awards. If I compare my life to some of my full time working friends, all I see is kiddos who are poorly fed, kids with hectic schedules; kids taking some kind of medication due to behavioral problems, etc, etc. I think that the key to a happy marriage and a stable family is to have a vision of where you want your family to be, and working as a family towards that goal, whatever it takes…

Before I get back to work, you read a lot about the “quality time” thing, quality is what matters not quantity, this is what the “experts are telling us” right, the problem that I have with this idea, is that quality time cannot be summoned, the quality time happens unexpectedly during the total time spent with your family, you never know when your child will ask you those important questions that may change his/her life, spending a lot of time with them will give you a greater opportunity to catch those “quality times” that are in some cases life changing. By the way, I think that the quality time concept is just a cheap attempt to soothe our minds, when deep inside we know that we are doing a lousy job as parents.

Personally I don’t have to prove to anybody who is more capable or who can make more money, however I am convinced that each house needs a CEO and in our family I have proudly taking the honor, giving up a very promising and well paid career. At the end of day, a heart full of smiles, hugs, good grades and silliness is far more rewarding than any six or seven figure salary.

08-30-2006 09:35 AM

Re: Each House Needs a CEO
KarmaKan
Newbie
KarmaKan

EXCELLENT… YOUR RESPONSE IS ABOUT THE ONLY ONE THAT MAKES SENSE ON THIS WEBPAGE. IT REALLY DOESN’T MATTER IF IT IS THE MAN OR THE WOMAN… BUT THERE HAS TO BE A CEO! I THINK WESTERN SOCIETY IS NOT PAYING ENOUGH ATTENTION TO KIDS AND THEIR NEEDS… INSTEAD FATHERS ARE COMPENSATING WITH MATERIAL THINGS SUCHA AS TOYS, GAME CUBES, X-BOXES AND SIMILAR STUFF.

08-31-2006 10:00 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

