I want to be a house-husband


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – I want to be a house-husband

I want to be a house-husband
Hiiiii
Regular Visitor
Hiiiii

I need a rich woman to marry. I’ll homeschool the kids and cook & clean. She needs to make enough to buy me a few videogames every month and I’ll be happy.

08-29-2006 08:11 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
miscwit
Contributor
miscwit

Good for you! Everyone should have options in life and the right to pursue them.

Now, go hit Match.com (and other dating websites) and do a search for all the single women actively pursuing a househusband.

We’ll anxiously await your results.

08-29-2006 08:14 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
juliandroms
Regular Contributor
juliandroms
I’ll second that request regarding being a househusband.

Unfortunately, I’ve been trying and the women seem uninterested.

Typical female blather — say one thing, do another.

08-29-2006 08:26 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
Jman
Contributor
Jman

Goodness, homeschool, cook and clean, I know who’ll be working harder at their job… You. I might suggest cook or clean to even things out.

One of my friends does that, minus the homeschooling. He gets a few video games.

08-29-2006 08:31 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
Doc_Savage
Regular Contributor
Doc_Savage

Dont forget to DEMAND one of these

to drive the kids to school in.

08-29-2006 08:36 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
3rdworldwm
Regular Contributor
3rdworldwm

Doc_Savage, I read your personal story and I am truly sorry about your mother and your having to be the bread winner at age 16. I am assuming your mother was a staying home mother and would not survive on her own if she would choose to leave your father. Ask yourself a question: if you have a daughter, do you want her to live like your mother or to be a strong independent career woman who doesn’t have to put up with a man like your father and be able to survive on her own?

08-29-2006 08:53 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

juliandroms wrote:
I’ll second that request regarding being a househusband.

Unfortunately, I’ve been trying and the women seem uninterested.

Typical female blather — say one thing, do another.

You can’t even have straight upbeat humor for three sentences?

Your days must suck.  Do you sneer at women when they walk by on the street?  Is your day-to-day existence as sorry and depressing as it would seem?

08-29-2006 09:12 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
juliandroms
Regular Contributor
juliandroms
Nothing is so funny as a person who is uncommonly (and uncomfortably) honest.

I think I’m hilarious.

08-29-2006 09:19 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
ftesyektsi
Regular Contributor
ftesyektsi

juliandroms wrote:
Nothing is so funny as a person who is uncommonly (and uncomfortably) honest.

I think I’m hilarious.

at least SOMEONE does.

08-29-2006 09:24 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
Doc_Savage
Regular Contributor
Doc_Savage

3rdworldwm wrote:

Ask yourself a question: if you have a daughter, do you want her to live like your mother or to be a strong independent career woman who doesn’t have to put up with a man like your father and be able to survive on her own?

The answer to your question is that I would much prefer her (a hypothetical daughter that is) to be a strong independant career woman as opposed to an abused wife who sticks to her husband for god knows what reason.

(I’ve never gotten anything close to a satisfactory answer as to why my mother married him in the first place or why she stuck with him. I have my theories but I’m not going into that now.)
And I would prefer this hypothetical daughter to succeed on her own merits as Mrs Thatcher was able to do back in 79 as opposed to the “positive discrimination” thats going on in the Tory party at the moment to promote women.

Dont confuse the fact that I think men are recieving unfair treatment at the moment with wanting women held back.

08-29-2006 10:10 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – I want to be a house-husband

Re: I want to be a house-husband
aldarris
Contributor
aldarris
Doc_Savage, I read your personal story and I am truly sorry about your mother and your having to be the bread winner at age 16. I am assuming your mother was a staying home mother and would not survive on her own if she would choose to leave your father. Ask yourself a question: if you have a daughter, do you want her to live like your mother or to be a strong independent career woman who doesn’t have to put up with a man like your father and be able to survive on her own?

I am truly amazed that someone actually fell for this trick and answered seriously. This is one of the oldest, straight from the book — limitation of alternatives. The two choices presented above are carefully selected from the multitude of paths available so that whatever choice one makes, he puts himself in a bad light. People that resort to such tricks can not and should not be debated with.

08-29-2006 10:49 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
Doc_Savage
Regular Contributor
Doc_Savage

aldarris wrote:
I am truly amazed that someone actually fell for this trick and answered seriously.

Well this is a discussion forum and if I wish to respond so what?

Free speech and all that.

08-29-2006 11:36 AM

Re: I want to be a house-husband
3rdworldwm
Regular Contributor
3rdworldwm

Thanks Doc_ Savage for your serious reply, truly appreciated. You see, I have a daughter, and she is the most important thing in my life. I want her to be happy and live a life which gives her the opportunities to fulfill her dreams and passions as I would want for a son. I don’t want her to have to make the choices between to be loved and having a family or to pursuing with her dream to be a rocket scientist.

Here is my personal story. I married this man for 8 years. I stayed home for 5 years to have and raise the baby and get myself a graduate degree at the same time. I started my career when my daughter was almost 5. I did all the household work including cooking, cleaning, shopping, ironing all his cloth, and taking care my daughter while working. Yes, it is difficult, but I managed, because it is what I wanted. He cheated on me…I forgave him, and he did it again. I left, with only $2000.00 in my bank account and my daughter (I told him if he wouldn’t fight the custody of my daughter with me then he could have all the marital assess). I am glad I have a career, so I can leave with dignity. Later I found out he had cheated in his first marriage and his first wife died of depression and pain killer over dose – she was a stay home wife.

As far as women were treated better and have privilege in work place – I was forced to leave my job because I am a woman in construction business which my boss didn’t think I belong to; and I refused to go to a project that required me leaving my daughter behind. Luckily, I found a better one.

My point is, it is wrong to conclude that career women make bad wives and bad mothers – it is the characters within the women make the difference. Same apply to men. I don’t conclude all men are cheaters just because my experience and men shouldn’t do the same to career women.

Message Edited by 3rdworldwm on 08-29-2006 01:46 PM

08-29-2006 12:47 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

