What is the value of marriage?


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – What is the value of marriage?

What is the value of marriage?
Jman
Contributor
Jman

As Oscar Wilde was quoted saying “The cynic knows the price of everything and the value of nothing.” We’ve had a lot of talk about finances with regards to marriage, but what do you think is the value of it? What is its purpose? I have my idea, what about you? Are you just a cynic?

08-30-2006 09:13 AM

Re: What is the value of marriage?
cmorales
Newbie
cmorales

Marriage is the most amazing thing I have ever experienced. I think the world of my husband, and I know that he thinks the world of me. Feeling loved, wanted, appreciated; there is no price tag that could be attached to this.  Marriage is hard work, however the rewards are incredible. Marriage is all about commitment, responsibility, trust, challenges, time and effort.  No different than any demanding career.  Seeing our children grow is simply breath taking, I get a glimpse of heaven and God everyday around my house.  When we got married we committed to follow the road till death do us part, nobody told us that the road was going to be straight, life will throw your curves in the forms of cancer, layoffs, money and family issues, etc.  However I assure you that these curves become straighter when you have your soul mate around.  After 13 years of marriage, I highly recommend it.

08-30-2006 10:30 AM

Re: What is the value of marriage?
Jman
Contributor
Jman

Ok there is one whom seems to find value in marriage. Anyone else?

08-30-2006 11:11 AM

Re: What is the value of marriage?
Jman
Contributor
Jman

Wow do I hear crickets churping in here. The silence speaks loudly. I’m not surprised it seems most in this forum cannot seem to get or stay married. CM you must be one of the few exceptions to the rule.

08-30-2006 11:31 AM

Re: What is the value of marriage?
Happy_Bullet
Regular Contributor
Happy_Bullet

*chirp chirp*

12 hours later…..

Men have standards. Women will be compared. DEAL WITH IT.

08-30-2006 11:56 PM

Re: What is the value of marriage?
Cassius
Regular Contributor
Cassius
Jman love does not require no marriage contract that says that the man owes you. The cinic is the woman who wants the marriage. She does not love her hubby and her mind is on how to get the maximum money and comfort out of him.

08-31-2006 08:43 AM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

