You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.


Reader Response to “Don’t Marry Career Women” – You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.

You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.
Democles
Regular Contributor
Democles

My wife and I have gone through very hard times, but we always seem to manage. Believe me, sometimes we have told each other we were going to split but somehow manage to stay together. I love her dearly and she takes great care of me and the kids (we have 3). She takes great care of herself and looks like she never had kids (she’s hot). She left her career to stay home and raise the kids, I work on average 60 to 70 in our family business, which helps us a lot, setting our own schedules (I take my sons to work with me, after they get out of school).

But IT IS A LOT OF WORK!!

I don’t cook or clean, she does that for us. I do take care of the yard, the family vehicles, home repairs. We get up at 5AM to jog together everyday, 7 days a week. I love that part about our relationship, we enjoy our runs together. The point in all this, marriage takes a lot of work. I think the individuals need to be highly compatible to stay together after the lustful bliss wears off.
I wish you the best to all of you.

Message Edited by Democles on 08-31-2006 08:20 PM

08-31-2006 08:14 PM

Re: You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.
fishnamedjames
Regular Contributor
fishnamedjames
Awesome post.

08-31-2006 10:30 PM

Re: You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.
3rdworldwm
Regular Contributor
3rdworldwm

fishnamedjames wrote:
Awesome post.

I second that.

08-31-2006 10:36 PM

Re: You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.
Cassius
Regular Contributor
Cassius
we all accept its not a piece of cake what we have a problem with is that the consequences of its failure rest squarely on the mans shoulders. Just look at McCartney what he has to go through after 5 years of marriage.

08-31-2006 11:26 PM

Re: You know, marriage is not a piece of cake.
juliandroms
Regular Contributor
juliandroms

Democles, you were gone for a while and then you came back.

Did your wife give you “The Talk”?

Hahahahaha.

09-01-2006 10:55 AM

Wow! I actually agree with something Democles said, LOL!
anonymom
Contributor
anonymom

Marriage is a lot of work, and requires a lot of give and take, communication, negotiation, and perserverance.  But when both spouses put effort into it, it is a wonderful partnership.

I am glad that you and your wife found a way to make YOUR marriage work for YOU.  What I still don’t agree with, though, is the view that all marriages need to be like your marriage to be successful (i.e. the husband works, the wife stays home, and domestic work is divided along traditional gender-based lines).

As I have posted before… I am married (to a man, LOL!, contrary to your beliefs that you posted before), work full time (luckily only 40 to 50 hours a week vs. your 60 to 70), my husband gave up his job to stay home with our kids, he cooks, a service cleans, I do the laundry, I drop the kids off at school, he picks them up, I organize the kids activities (with input from him… but he never seems to get the sign up forms in on time), he drives them to and from their activities after school, we go to church together, go to the kids concerts and weekend sports events together, play Monopoly with the kids together, and have a great love life together.  We have been married 15 years.

I still don’t understand why it is OK for you to have a career and have your wife stay home, but when I have a career and my husband stays home it causes you to say he is not a man, and others to say it isn’t right.

Again, though, I agree with your premise that marriage is a lot of work.  It takes true love and commitment not to just cut and run when things get tough (and both men and women do the cutting and running, not just women).

09-01-2006 01:49 PM

==============================================================================
Click on the board or message subject at the top to return.

